Europe and Conservation- Natura 2000

„Natura 2000“ is the name of an ecological network that was established to conserve the biodiversity within the European Union.

This network contains special protected areas that have been chosen in consideration of the aspects of the following directives:

The birds directive from 1979 (79/409/EWG)

The habitats directive from 1992 (92/43/EWG)

In total, the Natura 2000 network contains 29,000 areas within the 27 member states.

  • Das Natura 2000 Netzwerk der europäischen Union.
Life Unio
Natur & Emwelt
Life Unio - Partners